What do you DARE to do, if you know that you would succeed..?

img_9185

A friend sent me an email. She said that she had read my blog and was happy to see that I was writing about these issues, and she added that it is about time that we all stop feeling ashamed of ourselves. Of our strengths and our weaknesses.

“Of our strengths..!?”

Yes, that’s what she wrote. About our strengths and weaknesses. She added, when she read the quote from Marianne Williamson[1] that our deepest fear is not we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure, it threw her completely. That we are powerful beyond measure is harder to comprehend and handle, than our weaknesses. Reading her email reminded me about my own thoughts not long time ago:

I am preparing for, and am about to start a New Project! Something which I am very excited about (more details to come! 😉 Yet, I sway between thinking that it is so obvious that this project is exactly what I need to do right now, to thinking that it is the perhaps the craziest adventure I have ever decided to embarked on!!

In one of those moments, when I was thinking about the project and what I am about to do, I thought to myself:

“Really, perhaps it is not such a big deal!? I do this project for 6 months, just try it, give it all I have! What is the worst that can happen? That No One cares and no one pays attention to it, and I have done all the work in vain for 6 months!? It’s not soo bad,I can handle that! “

But than I froze in the middle of a movement, as I realized, that is actually not the worst that could happened..

I got a few horrifying images in my mind when I realized that even worse, would actually be, if people DID CARE! Getting attention for this project, as I thought of it, that would actually be EVEN WORSE!!

This thought made me laugh out loud, but it is true, the thought of a positive outcome and attention for my project is actually more scary than if no one cares!

This train of thoughts is in my opinion, funny but at the same time,it’s the honest truth!

If the project fails and nobody cares, that would just be a confirmation of the negative inner voices. A success would in reality be much more difficult to handle! As I think is the case for most people, if we are brutally honest, that it is easier to picture a failure than a success, cause who are we do be able to do extra ordinary things!?

However, what if, what if we have been given strengths and powers beyond incomprehensible measures? It is mind blowing to think about what we actually could do with that! And slightly uncomfortable as well.. cause if we accept that we all have the potential to be very powerful, that gives us all a certain responsibility, which we perhaps would not even want!?

It is certainly easier to play it small, and go about ones own business than to think about the possibilities we have and the responsibility which that would give us.

I remember when I was a student, studying for my MA Politics degree, in my first and second year I found the state of the world incomprehensible heartbreaking and unfair! And it seemed impossible to imagine how we would ever be able to change it to the better! It seemed so hard to change anything, that I seriously thought of dropping Politics and study Drama instead. I even applied, twice, to a four year Drama degree.. Though when I was offered to start, I turned the offer down.

I decided to stick with Politics and started to think differently, and looked to the cases where people have made a big difference as examples for that it is possible to make changes and improve unfair situations. There are various cases where ONE person has managed to do a lot to engage a lot of people to work for change and make a real difference; Gandhi. Mandela. Rosa Parks. Martin Luther King, etc.

It is so easy to think that one person can make no difference. But what if we all have a Rosa Parks, Gandhi or Mandela within us? And what if we all started to bring those potentials forward..!? Wow, we would then perhaps see a quite different world..?

But this is not just about politics! There are so many ways to inspire others, make a difference to the world, and bring one’s strengths forward, right!?

What if, we are, as Williamson is writing, all made to shine, and by doing so, giving others permission to let their light shine..?  It is an interesting and provoking thought. And think about it,

What would You do, to bring your strength forward..? And do you truly dare to succeed and show that you are powerful beyond measure..?

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.
We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?
Actually, who are you not to be?
You are a child of God.
Your playing small does not serve the world.
There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.
We are all meant to shine, as children do.
We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.
It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.
And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.
As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

Thank you for your attention!

Yours Sincerely

Sofia
[1]  ‘A Return To Love’ (1992) by Marianne Williamson. This passage is, for some reason, commonly misattributed to Nelson Mandela’s 1994 Inaugural Address.

 

 

Leave a Reply

